current entry older entries message board contact
6:29 a.m. - 2005-03-23

PARENTING 102


I think it's time I became a better parent.

Last night, Andrew and I were watching "Family Guy" on Cartoon Network. Andrew enjoys it for the slapstick qualities, while I prefer the subtle pop culture references hidden throughout the show.

At one point, one of the characters used the word "Dammit" when he did something stupid.

So, naturally, Andrew said "Dammit!"

Now ... as a parent, I have to decide what to do at this point.

Most parents would be horrified and say "Andrew! We do not say that! That's a BAD WORD! Never say it again!!"

But in my opinion, when you do that, the kid automatically thinks he's on to something.

So I don't say anything and just hope the kid never uses the word again.

And it's not like he blurted it out while playing with his Hot Wheels. He just repeated what he saw a cartoon say.

But then, one of the characters said "Oh my God!!"

So Andrew repeats that as well.

And to punctuate it, he adds a "dammit" on the end.

So now he's saying "Oh my God dammit!"

While it's mildly cute to witness a four year-old breaking one of the Ten Commandments, when it's YOUR four year-old, you begin to subtly shift into "I don't want my kid going to Hell" mode.

I'm beginning to think we're going to stop watching "Family Guy" for a while and go back to Disney at night.

But goddammit ... I'm really sick of that fucking Lion King.

26 comments so far
The last one/The next one


NEW!!!Come and write some BAD EROTICA with the cool kids!

My Diaryland Trading Card
Now go write a Suck Ass Poem�
Write me a note here.
Read my notes here.
Hey! Take the Uncle Bob Quiz!
What the hell! May as well take the wildly popular Uncle Bob Second Quiz too!
Thanks Diaryland
Designed by Lisa


CURRENT - ARCHIVES - MESSAGES - EMAIL


Have you read these?

The End Of Uncle Bob - 12:28 p.m. , 2009-02-19

Losing Focus While Trying To Write A Blog Entry Is Cool. - 1:47 p.m. , 2008-12-04

Buck Up Junior, You Could Be Digging Ditches - 11:36 p.m. , 2008-10-31

That Sinking Feeling - 6:09 a.m. , 2008-10-28

Return Of The Karate Kid And His Slow Kitty-Lovin' Accomplice - 5:44 a.m. , 2008-10-22

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

HEY YOU!
Click on the button below to order the book "Never Threaten To Eat Your Co-Workers: Best of Blogs" featuring Uncle Bob.
You WON'T be sorry.

DISCLAIMER


Read a random entry of mine.