current entry older entries message board contact
7:21 a.m. - 2005-11-15

AWWWWW


I am the father of the absolute cutest kid in the world.

He's been sick since Thursday night but has been a trooper the whole time.

Yesterday I took him to the doctor. I didn't tell him where we were going because I didn't want a meltdown.

Once we got on the interstate, Andrew noticed and tried to confirm "We're not going to school, Daddy."

"Nope. We're not going to school. You're too sick for school."

(Pause)

"We're not going to the doctor, Daddy."

(Silence)

"We're not going to the doctor, are we Daddy?"

(Silence)

"We're not going to the doc ..."

"We're going to go see Mama," I said.

Which ... wasn't a lie. Susie was meeting us at the doctor's office.

We get to the doctor's office and he's all hesitant about going in. When the doctor came into our exam room, the first thing he did was find Andrew's "tickle spots" and tickled him to make him laugh.

He then checked him out quickly which was one of the things Andrew was worried about. Andrew hates the tongue depressors and kept saying "No sticks! No sticks!"

So the doctor didn't use any.

He's got a virus that's been going around and the doctor said it lasts 4-5 days on average.

We got out of there fairly quickly and Andrew felt much better once we left.

As soon as we got in the car ...

"I want to be a doctor."

"You wanna be a doctor when you grow up?"

"Yes."

"Why?"

"Because then I get to tickle little boys and girls and make them feel better."

We stopped at the store and got some Motrin for kids.

Andrew HATES taking any medicine. Always has. We have to pin his arms down, pry his mouth open, stick our fingers between his teeth and shoot the medicine down his throat with a bulb syringe.

Yesterday, we get home and I'm dreading this because I'm alone with him and this is going to be a mess to get the medicine in his mouth without him spitting it all over the house.

He takes one look at the syringe.

"Let me do it," he says, wanting the syringe.

Ummmmm ... okay.

He takes the syringe, puts it to his lips and tastes it.

"It tastes like bubble gum, doesn't it?" I ask him.

He nods his head and then sticks the syringe in his mouth.

I showed him how to squeeze the bulb and while it took him a minute or so, he slowly squeezed the medicine in his mouth and swallowed it.

He then took a ... I don't remember what it's called ... a medicated strip that melts on your tongue ... and ate that as well.

I was shocked. Completely shocked.

"Doctors take their medicine," he explained between sips of water to wash the taste out.

I just wanted to cry tears of joy.

Mainly because ... my son ... the doctor.

If only I was Jewish, it would have been the happiest day of my life.

6 comments so far
The last one/The next one


NEW!!!Come and write some BAD EROTICA with the cool kids!

My Diaryland Trading Card
Now go write a Suck Ass Poem�
Write me a note here.
Read my notes here.
Hey! Take the Uncle Bob Quiz!
What the hell! May as well take the wildly popular Uncle Bob Second Quiz too!
Thanks Diaryland
Designed by Lisa


CURRENT - ARCHIVES - MESSAGES - EMAIL


Have you read these?

The End Of Uncle Bob - 12:28 p.m. , 2009-02-19

Losing Focus While Trying To Write A Blog Entry Is Cool. - 1:47 p.m. , 2008-12-04

Buck Up Junior, You Could Be Digging Ditches - 11:36 p.m. , 2008-10-31

That Sinking Feeling - 6:09 a.m. , 2008-10-28

Return Of The Karate Kid And His Slow Kitty-Lovin' Accomplice - 5:44 a.m. , 2008-10-22

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

HEY YOU!
Click on the button below to order the book "Never Threaten To Eat Your Co-Workers: Best of Blogs" featuring Uncle Bob.
You WON'T be sorry.

DISCLAIMER


Read a random entry of mine.