current entry older entries message board contact
1:46 p.m. - 2001-08-27

STILL REELING FROM THE DEATH OF AAAAAAAAYLIYAH

You know�I don�t mean to be blas� with a little thing over the �e� about this� but I don�t think Aaaaayliyah should have died in a plane crash.

When you think of all the musicians that have died in plane crashes, you think of the legends� Buddy Holly, Otis Redding, Stevie Ray Vaughan and members of Lynyrd Skynyrd to name just a few.

I�m sure Aaaaaaayliyah had her share of fans who thought she hung the moon, but I couldn�t hum a single one of her tunes. Granted, if it ain�t alternative, I don�t listen to a lot of today�s music. The only R&B tunes I listen to are old school�Aretha, Marvin, Sam Cooke, Otis, etc.

When a musician dies in a plane crash, their legacy is taken to a whole new level. Plane crashes and drug overdoses�if you�re a musician and you have to die, those are the routes to go. Anything else and you�re just a dead rock star. Plane crashes and drug overdoses�you become a legend. Choke on a ham sandwich like Mama Cass or run smack dab into a tree while skiing like Sonny Bono and you�re a punch line.

Aaaaaaaaaaaayliyah ?

Sorry� but I don�t think she should be regarded in the future as a musical legend. I�m sure there will be a lot of talk about what potential she had and how she would have been another true superstar like Whitney or Madonna had she lived to see those days. But I refuse to believe it.

And now�the word is that having too much luggage on the plane may have caused her plane crash.

Can you imagine that? You�re dead because you just HAD to bring along an extra suitcase full of Maybelline and wigs.

Ain�t that a bitch?

Don�t get me wrong; I�m sorry she�s dead. I�ve been grieving all day long, wondering how life would have been if I was still watching MTV on a regular basis and may have actually been a fan of hers.

Would I be even more upset than I am now?

Sadly � I�ll never know.

But I just don�t want to see her linked with all the other plane-crashed dead musicians and heralded as a legend whose death robbed her of a lifetime career in the entertainment world. The fact is�she had maybe two-three more years tops before she was replaced by someone younger, prettier and with a more organized set of pipes.

I mean�if Tiffany had died in a plane crash in 1988, would we still be talking about her?

No.

We�d all be like � �Tiffany who?�

Sorry if I sound cold and callous, but if in a year�s time I hear someone describe AAAAAAAAAAAAAAliyah as an �artist who could have made a difference�, I�m bound to go bonkers and slap some kung fu moves their way.

Selena.

Now THERE�S an artist snuffed out before she could reach her full Latino potential.

Ariba! Ariba! Andale! Andale!


Andy had to stay home with Mama today.

He�s welcoming in his seventh tooth with a high fever and delusions.

We�ve been keeping him pretty doped up on Motrin, Tylenol and Orajel, so the kid�s been a bit on the wacky side over the weekend.

He woke up today all sweaty and feverish so Susie decided to stay home with him and let him rest comfortably rather than take him to day care and let the other kids smack him around like a tetherball.

Last night was pretty amusing as he sat in my lap. He sat as if his spine was made of instant mashed potatoes as he kept swaying to and fro. At one point, I was flapping my lips by expelling air out my mouth, which had his loopy butt in stitches. Every time I�d do it, he�d laugh harder. At one point, he literally could not catch his breath he was laughing so hard.

Those are the moments that I think I�ll cherish the most. Watching my baby boy hyperventilate over something as stupid as flapping my lips and making rude noises.

I bought him some books today at lunch so that he gets a cool gift for being home sick today.

I bought him a "Bear in the Big Blue House" book which has lots of doors that he can open and look in.

And I bought him a cool "phone" book that has a button you push to make the phone ring.

He's just going to die when he sees it.

Which isn't really my intention. I don't wanna kill my kid with gifts.

But I bet he gets all excited and smiles and kicks really quick.

I love this kid.

Can you tell?


Lunch break�s over�I�ve got an interview to type up�I sat on the phone today with a guy for 59 minutes and 36 seconds as he talked in-depth about health care.

Yes�it�s truly amazing that I didn�t pass out from sheer boredom. Luckily, it was a phone interview so he couldn�t see me as I sat there with my eyes closed, making the �Yap, yap, yap� motion with my hand and writing the words �Oh God, please shut up� over and over again in my notebook.

Bitter and self-centered????

Who??

Me???

0 comments so far
The last one/The next one


NEW!!!Come and write some BAD EROTICA with the cool kids!

My Diaryland Trading Card
Now go write a Suck Ass Poem�
Write me a note here.
Read my notes here.
Hey! Take the Uncle Bob Quiz!
What the hell! May as well take the wildly popular Uncle Bob Second Quiz too!
Thanks Diaryland
Designed by Lisa


CURRENT - ARCHIVES - MESSAGES - EMAIL


Have you read these?

The End Of Uncle Bob - 12:28 p.m. , 2009-02-19

Losing Focus While Trying To Write A Blog Entry Is Cool. - 1:47 p.m. , 2008-12-04

Buck Up Junior, You Could Be Digging Ditches - 11:36 p.m. , 2008-10-31

That Sinking Feeling - 6:09 a.m. , 2008-10-28

Return Of The Karate Kid And His Slow Kitty-Lovin' Accomplice - 5:44 a.m. , 2008-10-22

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

HEY YOU!
Click on the button below to order the book "Never Threaten To Eat Your Co-Workers: Best of Blogs" featuring Uncle Bob.
You WON'T be sorry.

DISCLAIMER


Read a random entry of mine.