current entry older entries message board contact
6:27 a.m. - 2004-04-16

UMMMM ... YEAH

Hey.

Hi.

How are ya?

What do you want first? Job news or random thoughts?

Okay ... job news.

I got that DJ job I wanted.

But I didn't get it.


I talked to the guy Wednesday night and he said out of 18 applicants, he wanted me to be the one.

I was flattered. I think the guy's full of shit and I'm willing to bet I was the only one who applied for the job but that's neither here nor there.

Then he tells me that my employment hinges on if he can work out a contract with these four nightclubs and that the owner of these nightclubs "hasn't called me back yet".

Uhhhhh ... shouldn't you have explained that to me before you "hired" me? That there isn't a job just yet and there may not be a job?

He said that he wanted to go to the owner and say "I've got the man for the job...now sign the contract."

Honestly, it still sounds promising. The company I'd be working for has already put the DJ equipment in the four clubs and remodeled the DJ booths in all four clubs.

We're just waiting for the guy to sign the contract.

I'm not holding my breath for it.

But we're already starting off on the wrong foot with this venture.


On the other foot ... I am a telemarketing superstud of mythical proportions.

Yesterday I broke every record that the company had ever seen.

Well ... I broke THE record.

The individual goal each day is to sign up 10 people to be arrested and help raise money for Jerry's children.

I signed up 31 people. The closest person to me signed up 7.

After work I was called into one of the big wig's office.

She wanted me to explain how I did it because she smelled a scam.

I told her it was pure luck. I got some good leads and referrals from other people who I signed up and came across one business where everyone wanted to help because the receptionist's son has the disease.

She then offered me a job.

Yep.

As a part-time telemarketer.

Heh.

I wanted to say "I'm already a part-time telemarketer here".

But she wants to hire me to work for them rather than work for the temp agency. She wants me to train the temps.

I politely told her that I hate telemarketing with a passion and that I was only doing this to make ends meet.

I did say that I really believe in what we're doing and I'm a big supporter of the cause ... but I despise being a telemarketer.

I agreed to stay on as long as I could for them, but that I had irons in the fire elsewhere.

I think she was kinda taken aback.

You know ... to put it mildly.


I had some random thoughts, but I think I'll save 'em for a later date since I'm out of time this morning.

God.

Could I have BEEN more boring today?

12 comments so far
The last one/The next one


NEW!!!Come and write some BAD EROTICA with the cool kids!

My Diaryland Trading Card
Now go write a Suck Ass Poem�
Write me a note here.
Read my notes here.
Hey! Take the Uncle Bob Quiz!
What the hell! May as well take the wildly popular Uncle Bob Second Quiz too!
Thanks Diaryland
Designed by Lisa


CURRENT - ARCHIVES - MESSAGES - EMAIL


Have you read these?

The End Of Uncle Bob - 12:28 p.m. , 2009-02-19

Losing Focus While Trying To Write A Blog Entry Is Cool. - 1:47 p.m. , 2008-12-04

Buck Up Junior, You Could Be Digging Ditches - 11:36 p.m. , 2008-10-31

That Sinking Feeling - 6:09 a.m. , 2008-10-28

Return Of The Karate Kid And His Slow Kitty-Lovin' Accomplice - 5:44 a.m. , 2008-10-22

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

HEY YOU!
Click on the button below to order the book "Never Threaten To Eat Your Co-Workers: Best of Blogs" featuring Uncle Bob.
You WON'T be sorry.

DISCLAIMER


Read a random entry of mine.