current entry older entries message board contact
8:15 a.m. - 2004-06-23

WELCOME TO ... HOLY CRAP! WHAT DID YOU DO TO YOUR HEAD?!?

I went to my local neighborhood Blockbuster yesterday to rent "Bad Santa".

(Which sucked. It's funny when Santa cusses out a kid the first time. After that it's repetitious. Kinda like this diary)

So I saunter up to the counter with my movie under my arm which is an odd place to carry a movie once you really think about it.

The girl starts ringing me up and then looks at me and says "You cut all your hair off!!"

I was shocked that she even knew who I was. It's not like I'm a Blockbuster groupie who hangs around in the store every day and wishes that he could be an employee there but never has the guts to ask for an application.

"Yeah," I said, bewildered. "I did."

"I knew I recognized your name because you're in here all the time!" she said.

Now I may rent two movies a month ... max. We get these free rental coupons from MCI and I go in there sporadically to use them.

I swear.

I'm NOT a fucking Blockbuster groupie.

"Man, you cut it ALL off, didn't you?" she said with a smile.

"Yeah," I said. "I just woke up one morning last week and decided to get my head shaved."

"That takes some guts," she said.

"Maybe," I said. "But I didn't give it much thought. I got in the shower, decided I'd get my head shaved that day, got out of the shower and 20 minutes later my head was shaved."

"Wow," the girl said.

As long as we were making conversation, I decided to share a revelation with her.

"You know," I smiled. "As many people that have seen me and noted that I shaved my head, NOBODY has said that it looked good."

"It doesn't," she said.

HA!

Man, that just cracked me up. Here's this girl that I don't even know just being brutally honest with a customer.

"Well," I laughed. "I like it. I can just roll out of bed in the morning, brush my teeth and get on with my business."

"I bet your wife hates it," she said, handing me my DVD.

"Uhhh ... she's not that fond of it," I affirmed.

"I mean, it's your head," the girl said. "But you should have told your wife you were doing it."

"Yeah," I said, still reeling from the chastising I was getting from the video store clerk. "Maybe so."

"Enjoy your movie," she said, which is Blockbuster speak for "We're done socializing. Move it along, Curly."

Soooo ... thanks to the Blockbuster girl, I think I'm going to go ahead and let my hair grow back out.

It's just weird.

She's about the last person I ever thought would have a direct impact on my personal appearance.

28 comments so far
The last one/The next one


NEW!!!Come and write some BAD EROTICA with the cool kids!

My Diaryland Trading Card
Now go write a Suck Ass Poem�
Write me a note here.
Read my notes here.
Hey! Take the Uncle Bob Quiz!
What the hell! May as well take the wildly popular Uncle Bob Second Quiz too!
Thanks Diaryland
Designed by Lisa


CURRENT - ARCHIVES - MESSAGES - EMAIL


Have you read these?

The End Of Uncle Bob - 12:28 p.m. , 2009-02-19

Losing Focus While Trying To Write A Blog Entry Is Cool. - 1:47 p.m. , 2008-12-04

Buck Up Junior, You Could Be Digging Ditches - 11:36 p.m. , 2008-10-31

That Sinking Feeling - 6:09 a.m. , 2008-10-28

Return Of The Karate Kid And His Slow Kitty-Lovin' Accomplice - 5:44 a.m. , 2008-10-22

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

HEY YOU!
Click on the button below to order the book "Never Threaten To Eat Your Co-Workers: Best of Blogs" featuring Uncle Bob.
You WON'T be sorry.

DISCLAIMER


Read a random entry of mine.