current entry older entries message board contact
8:41 a.m. - 2004-05-12

THE CHRISTIANS ROCK THE HOUSE

Yesterday, the annoying neighbor kid showed up at my doorstep.

"Uncle Bob, can you put a song on CD for me?" he asked.

"Sure," I said, glad that his request for the day was a simple one and not something like "Can I sit in your lap and squirm seductively" because if there's one thing I despise, it's the neighborhood kids trying to seduce me.

(Cut me some slack ... I got 3.5 hours of sleep last night and it's all your fault. Well ... not really. But before you got all outraged with me, I thought I'd try to guilt you first. Suffice to say it didn't work and we shall just move on, hokay?)

So he says "Let me go get the song, it's in my Mom's car!"

I say "Okay" and I wait impatiently for the little runt to come back.

Thirty seconds pass and he comes back with a piece of paper.

I thought I was dubbing a CD.

Nope.

The kid's friend has written a song and our neighborhood Dennis The Menace is now in a new band called "The Christians" made up of three 8 year-old boys with no musical talents whatsoever.

And because Dennis has the experience of actually holding a microphone in his hands at one time, he's been designated as the singer of the band.

This is all news to me. Granted, it's not earth-shattering news, but still.

So I hook up practically every audio component I have in order to give this kid what he wants.

We go through several different takes on the song before the kid finds one that he's happy with.

And in the end, the song is about as horrendous as you might imagine.

Soooooo ...

Click here to hear one of the better versions of the song "Jesus Is My Homey".

WARNING: Listening to this song may cause epileptic seizures and possible fractured relationships with Jesus Christ. Listener discretion is advised.

80 comments so far
The last one/The next one


NEW!!!Come and write some BAD EROTICA with the cool kids!

My Diaryland Trading Card
Now go write a Suck Ass Poem�
Write me a note here.
Read my notes here.
Hey! Take the Uncle Bob Quiz!
What the hell! May as well take the wildly popular Uncle Bob Second Quiz too!
Thanks Diaryland
Designed by Lisa


CURRENT - ARCHIVES - MESSAGES - EMAIL


Have you read these?

The End Of Uncle Bob - 12:28 p.m. , 2009-02-19

Losing Focus While Trying To Write A Blog Entry Is Cool. - 1:47 p.m. , 2008-12-04

Buck Up Junior, You Could Be Digging Ditches - 11:36 p.m. , 2008-10-31

That Sinking Feeling - 6:09 a.m. , 2008-10-28

Return Of The Karate Kid And His Slow Kitty-Lovin' Accomplice - 5:44 a.m. , 2008-10-22

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

HEY YOU!
Click on the button below to order the book "Never Threaten To Eat Your Co-Workers: Best of Blogs" featuring Uncle Bob.
You WON'T be sorry.

DISCLAIMER


Read a random entry of mine.