current entry older entries message board contact
7:34 a.m. - 2005-04-28

I HATE COMING UP WITH TITLES FOR THIS CRAP


Ah'm still sick.

(Long throaty snort)

I wanna get my sinuses removed so I don't have to keep going through this shit.



The funeral yesterday was one of the saddest things I've ever been involved with.

To recap: 37 year-old healthy friend dies of a massive heart attack, leaving behind a young widow, a boy age 7 and a girl aged 3.

At the funeral, the priest veered off from the eulogy and began talking to the little 7 year-old boy. He told him that he's the man of the house now and has to do his best to take care of his Mom and sister, leaving the packed church in tears.

The little boy just sits quietly and nods his head.

Then, at the gravesite as everything's wrapping up, the little boy finally realizes exactly what's going on and starts saying "I want my daddy" over and over again.

This makes his little sister cry.

Which makes the mother cry.

And the whole family cry.

And then everyone standing around there has AT LEAST tears in their eyes if they're not outright crying.

I know people die every day on this planet.

But man ... that just tore me up yesterday.



Alright ... on to sunnier subjects.

But not really.

Tomorrow night I'm supposed to play this outdoor event from 6 p.m. until 6 a.m.

I'm really looking forward to it ... except now the weather guys are PROMISING that severe thunderstorms are going to be rolling through the area sometime within that 12 hour period.

And the people I'm playing for demanded a contract which they've signed and returned to me.

And in the contract it clearly states:

"UNCLE BOB shall not be required to perform indoors or outdoors if the location temperature is below 50 degrees, or outdoors if there is a 50% or greater chance of rain or if high winds make performance unsafe for UNCLE BOB. If any of these conditions exist and the client has no suitable indoor location, the client agrees to pay UNCLE BOB in full. If UNCLE BOB has been instructed to set up outdoors and inclement weather prevents or interupts performance, the client agrees to pay UNCLE BOB in full. Once set up indoors or outdoors, UNCLE BOB is not required to move or re-set up. "

(It actually has my business name and not "Uncle Bob" in there)

I'm just wondering what I should do here.

They've signed the contract which basically says "As soon as it rains, The DJ can leave and you have to pay him every penny owed."

These are people that I'd like to continue doing business with.

Plus, it's a fundraiser.

And I HAVE given up another gig to do this one. The other gig was inside and I would have been able to play that with no problem.

I dunno.

I just feel shitty taking a lot of money if I have to quit 7-8 hours early.

But hey ... they signed the contract ...
right?

24 comments so far
The last one/The next one


NEW!!!Come and write some BAD EROTICA with the cool kids!

My Diaryland Trading Card
Now go write a Suck Ass Poem�
Write me a note here.
Read my notes here.
Hey! Take the Uncle Bob Quiz!
What the hell! May as well take the wildly popular Uncle Bob Second Quiz too!
Thanks Diaryland
Designed by Lisa


CURRENT - ARCHIVES - MESSAGES - EMAIL


Have you read these?

The End Of Uncle Bob - 12:28 p.m. , 2009-02-19

Losing Focus While Trying To Write A Blog Entry Is Cool. - 1:47 p.m. , 2008-12-04

Buck Up Junior, You Could Be Digging Ditches - 11:36 p.m. , 2008-10-31

That Sinking Feeling - 6:09 a.m. , 2008-10-28

Return Of The Karate Kid And His Slow Kitty-Lovin' Accomplice - 5:44 a.m. , 2008-10-22

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

HEY YOU!
Click on the button below to order the book "Never Threaten To Eat Your Co-Workers: Best of Blogs" featuring Uncle Bob.
You WON'T be sorry.

DISCLAIMER


Read a random entry of mine.